New Leadership for Austin Bar Association and Austin Young Lawyers Association

On July 1, 2015, Judge Eric M. Shepperd begins his term as president of the Austin Bar Association. Judge Shepperd will lead the Austin Bar for a one-year term.  The Austin Bar Association, founded in 1893 as a nonprofit professional organization for attorneys, is dedicated to enhancing the legal profession, administration of justice, and the community through education, networking and public service.  Judge Shepperd’s term will focus on raising the public’s awareness of legal services available to them, and highlighting the many ways in which Austin’s legal community works to bring those services to those who need them most.

Immediate past-president of the Austin Bar, Judge Elisabeth Earle, had this to say about her successor, “Judge Shepperd is a dear friend, brilliant attorney, and a thoughtful jurist.   He will be an outstanding leader of our organization, continuing the Austin Bar’s tradition of service to our community and our profession.”IMG_3182

Judge Shepperd took office on January 1, 2007 for County Court at Law No. 2. He was formerly the Director of Civil Litigation for the Travis County Attorney’s office.  Prior to joining the County Attorney’s office, he was an Assistant Attorney General in what is now called the Law Enforcement Defense Division.  He holds a BA in Business from Andrews University and a law degree from The University of Texas School of Law and is Board Certified in Civil Trial Law.

Shepperd has always been active in service to the legal profession and the Austin community.  He is a lecturer for The University of Texas Law School’s Trial Advocacy Program, a past board member and a past chair of the Central Texas Red Cross board of directors, and past president and current board member on the Austin Habitat for Humanity’s board of directors. Shepperd is also a board member and past chair of the Leadership Austin Board of Directors and he sits on the board of directors of the Texas Center of Judiciary.  He is also a board member of the Volunteer Legal Services Financial Committee.

Joining Judge Shepperd as Austin Bar officers for the upcoming bar year are Leslie Dippel, president-elect; Amy Welborn, Secretary; Adam Schramek, Treasurer; and Judge Elisabeth Earle, immediate past-president.  Rounding out the board of directors are David Courreges, Jessica Mangrum, Cindy Saiter, D. Todd Smith, Amanda Arriaga, Laurie Merritt, Amanda Taylor and Kennon Wooten.

Chari Kelly also begins her term as president of The Austin Young Lawyers Association on July 1, 2015.  New leadership for AYLA includes Katie Fillmore, president-elect; Jorge Padilla, Secretary; Austin Kaplan, Treasurer; and Amanda Arriaga, immediate past-president.  The AYLA board of directors includes Hayden Briggle, Drew Harris, Whitney Mack, Nadia Ramkissoon, Sandy Bayne, David King, Jessica Palvino and Andrea Rose.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HTML tags are not allowed.

854,783 Spambots Blocked by Simple Comments