New Leadership Term Begins for Austin Bar Association, Austin Young Lawyers Association, and the Austin Bar Foundation

On July 1, 2016, Leslie Dippel begins her term as president of the Austin Bar Association. Dippel will lead the Austin Bar for a one-year term.  During the upcoming year, Dippel will highlight the many community outreach programs of the Austin Bar Association.  In particular, she hopes to support and expand the Free Legal Advice Clinic for Veterans, a monthly legal clinic for military veterans and their families, and the Self-Represented Litigant Project, which provides first-class pro bono legal services to self-represented litigants seeking assistance through the Travis County Law Library and Self Help Center.

Immediate past-president of the Austin Bar, Judge Eric Shepperd, had this to say about his successor, “Leslie Dippel will be a great Austin Bar President. She is a terrific trial lawyer and a highly effective consensus-building leader who will lead the Bar to even greater award-winning heights. She will dare greatly and succeed.”

Dippel leads the employment law section of the Travis County Attorney’s Office.  She began her career as a trial lawyer in the Law Enforcement Defense Division in the Office of the Attorney General of Texas and a briefing attorney for United States Magistrate Judges Stephen H. Capelle and Andrew W. Austin.  Immediately prior to joining the Travis County team, Dippel was in private practice with Brown McCarroll (now Husch Blackwell).  For the majority of her legal career, her practice has emphasized labor and employment law.  Dippel holds a BA in Political Science from Southwest Texas State University and a JD from the University of Houston Law Center. 

Dippel is an active member of the Austin community.  She has been a member of the board of directors of the Austin Bar Association since 2005, and is a past member of the board of directors of Leadership Austin and the Robert W. Calvert Inn of Court.  She is a current member of the advisory board for Mothers Against Drunk

Driving, the civil committee of the Texas District and County Attorney’s Association, three PTA boards, and the Bowie High School women’s lacrosse team booster club.  She and her husband are native Austinites and live in south Austin with their three children who are all active in soccer and lacrosse.  Any spare time away from the courtroom is spent on soccer and lacrosse fields across the great state of Texas.

Joining Dippel as Austin Bar officers for the upcoming bar year are Amy Welborn, President-Elect; Adam Schramek, Secretary; D. Todd Smith, Treasurer; and Judge Eric Shepperd, immediate Past-President.  Rounding out the board of directors are Amanda Arriaga, Laura Merritt, Amanda Taylor, Kennon Wooten, David Courreges, Blair Dancy, Chari Kelly, and Cindy Saiter.

Katie Fillmore begins her term as president of the Austin Young Lawyers Association on July 1, 2016.  New leadership for AYLA also includes Austin Kaplan, President-Elect: Jorge Padilla, Treasurer; Drew Harris, Secretary; and Chari Kelly, immediate Past-President.  The AYLA board of directors includes Sandy Bayne, David King, Stacie Bennett, Andrea Rose, Andrew Cates, Franklin Hopkins, Rachael Jones, and Erin Smith, with Director-at-Large, Tom Jacob.

The Austin Bar Foundation was established in 2003 to support and expand the provision of legal-related charitable and educations programs and services in Central Texas.  Since its inception, over $107,000 has been given in grants to local legal-related charities. The 2016 grant recipients are the Texas Accountants and Lawyers for the Arts (TALA), Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Travis County, the Texas State Law Library, Catholic Charities of Central Texas, and AYLA. 

Officers for the Austin Bar Foundation are Judge Eric Shepperd, Chair; Leslie Dippel, Chair-elect; Toya Cirica Bell, Vice-Chair; Laura Sharp, Treasurer; and Laura Merritt, Secretary. Directors are Eric Behrens, Michael Dodd, Judge Elisabeth Earle, Manuel Escobar, Lowell Keig, Meghan Kempf, Mishell Kneeland, Janet McCullar, Marilyn Poole, Pete Reid, D. Todd Smith, Gavin Villareal and Amy Welborn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HTML tags are not allowed.

854,774 Spambots Blocked by Simple Comments